Who Needs A Food Handler Card In California?
Who Needs A Food Handler Certificate in the state of California? Food handler and responsible beverage service training certification in California is required for restaurant industry workers. This regulation was created to make sure food industry employees receive adequate training in food safety practices. The food handler card requirement helps to lessen occurrences of food borne illnesses.
Get certified online at Acefoodhandler.com.
Receiving a food handler certification in CA is required within 30 days of the start of your food industry employment date. According to SB 602, Padilla Food safety: “The California Retail Food Code provides for the regulation of health and sanitation standards for retail food facilities by the State Department of Public Health. Under existing law, a violation of these provisions is a misdemeanor. Local health agencies are primarily responsible for enforcing this law.” Food handlers must have a California Food Handler Card certificate 30 days from the date of hire. These cards are valid for 3 years at which time they must be renewed.
The counties of San Bernardino and San Diego have pre-existing food handler card programs which is why they are exempt from the state mandate. A responsible beverage service training card is necessary for alcohol servers.
The responsible beverage service training (Alcohol RBS) is a requirement in California in order to serve alcoholic beverages.
This certificate is to help educate servers of alcoholic beverages for on-premises consumption in order to reduce alcohol related harm in California communities. Furthermore the Beverage Service Training Program (RBSTP) aims to educate servers and their managers of alcoholic beverages on the dangers of serving alcohol to minors and over-serving alcohol to patrons. Again, these certification regulations are to lessen alcohol related harm to local communities in the state of CA. According to the food handler certification in CA it’s the business’ responsibility to maintain the documented records of employees valid cards. These records must be provided to local authorities whenever requested.
The specific bill requires at least one food handler training course to cost no more than $15. At Acefoodhandler we provide 3 courses options at reasonable prices.
|California combo only $17|
We offer the food handler course, the responsible beverage server course, and a combo course. The California food handler card alone is $7, the responsible beverage service training is $12, or get them both for $17.
More detailed information about the State of California Food Handler, Food Manager and Responsible Beverage Services can be found on the California Department of Health website.
ACE Food Handler's food handlers card training and test uses the latest instructional design techniques to help you retain food safety concepts so you are ready to work.
The description below applies to most of our food handlers card training course, however due to the varying array of requirements across the nation, your course might be a little different. Find your state county and city above to learn more about food handler training for your area.
Food Handler Course Content:
Frequently Asked Questions
A food handlers card (also commonly referred to as a certificate, card, or permit) is used as documentation to prove to employers and/or health departments that you have completed a food safety course that is approved and/or recognized by your city, coutny, or state Health Authority. It is valid for 2 to 4 years depending on your local government requirments.
This varies by employeers and city, county, and state governements. It is best to ask your employer (current or future) or Local Health Authority about when you will need to aquire your food handler card based on your employement date.
ACE Food Handler works with numberjous health departments and regulatory agencies across the country. ACE Food Handler’s food handlers card courses are created to meet the requirements of specific city, coutny, and state requirements. If you have questions about your city, county or state requirements please call your employer (current or future) and/or you Local Health Authority.
A food handlers card, permit, or certificate for your area. You will be able to print or download your food handler certificate after you have received a passing score on the final exam. You will also be emailed a PDF a copy of your certificate to the email address you provided so please check your inbox and/or spam box also.
If your food handlers card, certificate, or permit has expired, you will need to purchase a new course for your state and retake your states food handler training and test to get your new card. Click here to find your State
If you need to reprint your current card, login and go to the Start My Course. From there, you can click on the name of your Certificate under the heading "My Certificates" on the right hand side of the screen and print or download your food handler or alcohol seller/server card or certificate for free.
If you need to track your employees or restaurants food handler certifications we offer:
- Custom Portals
- Custom Coupons
- Reporting by Store and Company Levels
- Variable Access Levels
- Contact ACE for a Custom Solution for your Business
Below are a list of Food Handler and Alcohol Seller/Sever Resources you can use
Food Safety Resources
Alcohol Seller/Server Resources