Responsible Beverage Service Training educates persons seeking employment or who are currently employed as servers of alcoholic beverages for on-premises consumption.  It aims to provide servers the necessary skills to responsibly serve alcoholic beverages and mitigate alcohol related harm in California communities.


California AB 1221

California AB 1221

What is the RBS Training Program?

Passage of Assembly Bill 1221 in 2017 created the Responsible Beverage Service Training Act.  The bill required the Alcoholic Beverage Control to create the Responsible Beverage Service Training Program to ensure servers and their managers of alcoholic beverages are educated on the dangers of serving alcohol to minors and over-serving alcohol to patrons with the intention of reducing alcohol related harm to local communities. The new mandate creates a new training requirement for an estimated 1,000,000 on-premises alcohol servers, their managers, and licensees beginning in 2021. ​

Beginning July 1, 2021, any alcohol server and their manager must have a valid RBS certification from an ABC accredited RBS training provider and pass an online ABC administered RBS exam within 60 calendar days from the first date of employment.


Frequently Asked Questions

Is RBS training mandatory and do I need a certificate to serve alcohol in California?

Who must be trained under AB 1221?

Beginning in July 2021, any ABC licensee who has an “ABC On-Premises License” will need to have their staff (alcohol servers and managers of alcohol servers) trained and certified in RBS within sixty (60) days of employment.  This includes but is not limited to: restaurants, bars, fast casual dining, tasting rooms (including off-sale locations), hotels, and stadiums.

“ABC On-Premises License” means an ABC license that grants the privilege to serve alcoholic drinks to patrons who then consume them within the licensed premises.


Responsible Beverage Service (RBS) Training

California Responsible Beverage Service Training

 


California RBS Training

The California Department of Public Health Food Handler’s Card

 The California Department of Public Health Food Handler’s Card The state of California recommends that individuals work in restaurants and non-restaurant facilities to complete food handing training. A California food handler card is valid everywhere in California except in Riverside, San Bernardino and San Diego counties which have pre-existing local food handler card programs. Consult with the local enforcement agencies in each of these counties to obtain information on their local food handler programs and requirements. Once you have finished your course, you may print out your certificate of completion. This certificate will serve as your California Food Handler’s Card that qualifies you to work in the food service industry in California.

More Details

California food workers who handle food must have a California Food Handler card on file with their employer within 30 days of hire. To get your card, you must complete the training and pass the exam with a 75 percent or higher. You can complete the training online with ACE Food Handler. Ace Food Handler training and final exam meets the requirements of California’s food safety law SB 602 and is ANSI Approved.   12-20-2017 . California Department of Public Health – Food and Drug Branch 1500 Capitol Ave, MS 7602 Sacramento, CA 95814

 

California Food Handler

California Department of Public Health – Food and Drug Branch

1500 Capitol Ave, MS 7602

Sacramento, CA 95814

error: Content is protected !!